Storm warning

November 3, 2010

Just now, as I write this, the state of Terengganu is beseiged in a violent tropical thunderstorm.  The window from my office in Kemaman looks out to the interstate, a double-carriage that, for lack of a tolled highway, sees traffic from Kota Bahru all the way to Johor Bahru. The rain is heavy and unrelenting, deluging and enveloping everything in a translucent glaze.  There are still cars on the road challenging nature’s wrath, these drivers could barely see 10 meters ahead- I guess they could risk it because their desire to get home is even greater.

The sound that it makes is one of fury, a deafening drone that enlists the rooftops, garbage cans, leaves & branches of trees, road tarmacs, my own parked car & howling dogs into a frightful orchestra, where one would involuntarily jolt whenever Lei Gong joins in with his cymbals. 
 
But it is yet another time when I feel most at peace.  I feel as if I am in a bubble, a cocoon. As if there is nothing else in the world but the sound of rain.

After the rain in Kemaman

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ls5TCAWXOxU This video link is for music from a time I choose to forget, when I almost veered into Kenny G territory(I didn’t).

Lei gong

One Response to “Storm warning”

  1. Jax Says:

    Just when you thought the storm is over………..
    Truth is……it’s just the beginning………
    Peace…..it’s about maintaining self balance….in work…in play….etc…..
    Rest well….good night


Leave a Reply

