Where’s the gravity? Happy New Year 2015

December 31, 2014

As I sit here in 2014, I ponder the weight of the world as countdowns begin everywhere. 250,000 of my fellow countrymen have been displaced through the worst floods in years, and the first bodies are being recovered from that fateful airasia flight as I write, and the most poignant image if there will be one, will be that there were 2 found reportedly still holding hands.

Sometime tonight, my relatives in Fukushima will be celebrating their 3rd radioactive new year’s party. As I contemplate going out to mine, my phone has been ringing with congratulatory whatsapp messages from friends around the world.

I know that it is all deeply personal, but my concern has always been one of self-analysis or reflection. What is my reaction to things that matter? How do I reconcile myself with the world? How do I attain peace of mind? A new friend points out I’m particularly purposeful, but can I not be? I know not of any other way to live.

2 Responses to “Where’s the gravity? Happy New Year 2015”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    Glad you haven’t changed, Jun. Your thoughtfulness and profundity makes you the unique and wonderful person I know and love. You’ve been especially present in my thoughts recently with the 10th anniversary of the tsunami. Hard to believe. I’d like to bombard you with whatsapp messages, but I don’t have your number. Love and best wishes for 2015. xo

  2. jun368 Says:

    Happy New Year! As always you are generous with your comments, and I am reminded time and again that you and hairy were the best things that came out of that awful time with the tsunami. How I miss you!


Leave a Reply

